Steelers Lounge Podcast #11: Steelers-Dolphins Recap — Big Ben Fumbled!

The Steelers won the first leg of their three-game road trip, a 23-22 squeaker against the Dolphins. I’m sure some folks will spend the week bellyaching about Big Ben’s fourth quarter fumble, but Pittsburgh has bigger issues: Aaron Smith appears to be done for the season, and LaMarr Woodley has tweaked his hammy (not to mention Brett Keisel’s already tweaked hammy).

We cover that and a bunch of other stuff below. Enjoy.

Steelers Lounge Podcast #11: Steelers-Dolphins Recap

Steelers Lounge Podcast

As always, thanks to everybody for subscribing to the podcast (do it now if you haven’t) and if you want to send questions, comments, complaints or whatever about the show, email us here.

This entry was posted in 2010 steelers, Podcast. Bookmark the permalink.
  • Anonymous

    Nice.

  • Anonymous

    Ya know what’s really too bad? The loss to Baltimore.

    Picture the Steelers going 19-0 and Mercury Morris and Larry Csonka having to choke on this 23-22 loss.

  • Anonymous

    Ya know what’s really too bad? The loss to Baltimore.

    Picture the Steelers going 19-0 and Mercury Morris and Larry Csonka having to choke on this 23-22 loss.

  • Pingback: Pittsburgh Steelers Morning Links And Daily Thread | Steelers Lounge

  • SteelerBill

    Nice work again folks…wait did you invoke Quincy Morgan? Here’s the issue, as you know, once the ref said TD most of the guy’s ‘let up’ so it’s difficult to say that the Dolphins did recover it….that would be like saying that after a TD an offensive player spikes the ball, if the defender is holding the ball after the spike could you conclude that he ‘came up with it’? I know the Dolphins were upset and I get it – I would be too – but that’s the rule….

  • GlennW

    It’s indeed the proper ruling based on how the after-events played out, but what the Dolphins could be upset about is the fact that the officials made no effort to determine who had recovered the “fumble”, as they are permitted and maybe even obligated to do on down-by-contact or goal-line loss-of-possession plays. I read Stenadore’s post-game interview transcript and this question was asked multiple times, to which his non-answer was “the play was ruled a TD on the field”. Basically the ol’ CYA run-around.

    When this play went to replay review, I immediately rewound and reviewed the play during commercial and made note of the fact that indeed no officials were paying any attention to the fumble-recovery scrum. I still thought the referee might have enough evidence to give possession to Miami, but held out hope that the inattentiveness to the recovery might save us. And so it did. We got a big break, and we’ll take it. As Tomlin said, the buses are warming up and we’re out of here before anybody changes their mind.